What should I call my book?

I’m spending July finalising my manuscript for a book that was to be called Philosophy of Medicine which is under contract with Oxford University Press. However, Routledge has this year published Philosophy of Medicine: An Introduction by the excellent Thompson and Upshur. Do I change my title, or not?

The contents are quite different as you can see by comparing the ToC of that book and the (latest) ToC of my own, below (on which comments are very welcome of course).

My book ends up defending a position that I call Medical Cosmopolitanism, and I could use this as the title, perhaps with a subtitle like “What is medicine and what should we think of it?” or something. But I worry that Medical Cosmopolitanism is going to be confusing.

Any thoughts and ideas are welcome!

My latest ToC:

About this Book

Introduction

Ch 1: What Is Philosophy of Medicine?

Ch 2: Medical Traditions

Ch 3: The Point of Medicine

Ch 4: What Are Doctors Good At?

Ch 5: Evidence-Based Medicine

Ch 6: Person and Medicine

Ch 7: Medical Nihilism

Ch 8: Alternatives and Medical Dissidence

Ch 9: Decolonizing Medicine

Ch 10: Health and Disease

Ch 11: Medical Cosmopolitanism

Leave a Reply

