African Medicine in the JMP

My inaugural lecture, somewhat edited, has been published in the Journal of Medicine and Philosophy, along with relies by Thaddeus Metz and Chadwin Harris, and a rejoinder from me.

https://academic.oup.com/jmp/issue/43/3

I’m proud of this, particularly because it’s the first time to my knowledge that this journal has published material on African medicine. It may even be the first publication in the contemporary philosophy of medicine, whether analytic or continental, that discusses African medicine in any meaningful way, or discusses Africa in a non-victim role (as opposed to discussions of unfair drug testing practices, neglected diseases, and so forth). I must emphasize that I stand to be corrected on each of these progressively more provocative speculations, and would be delighted for references which I will happily collate and list on another post.

The paper is about the nature of medicine and the role of cure, which I argue is not the main business of medicine, even if it’s the goal. My respondents, naturally, disagree.

Please let me know if you don’t have institutional access to the paper.

Leave a comment